In 2019 the Commissioners announced the formation of a Chester County Environmental and Energy Advisory Board. The Environmental and Energy Advisory Board will enhance the County's commitment to preservation and protection of the environment and focus on the balance, interplay, and impact of energy related initiatives and issues.

In February 2020 the Commissioners voted to appoint 15 individuals to the County's Environmental and Energy Advisory Board. The members of the Board include Chester County residents along with representatives of businesses, energy initiatives, municipalities, land conservancies and county departments. View press release.

View the bylaws of the Chester County Environmental and Energy Advisory Board

coverChester County Climate Action Plan — October 2021

The Chester County Climate Action Plan was adopted by the County Commissioners on October 7, 2021. The plan was prepared by the Chester County Planning Commission in partnership with the County's Environmental and Energy Advisory Board. The Climate Action Plan provides a blueprint for reducing greenhouse gas emissions and increasing energy efficiency at County government facilities and community-wide.

For more information about the plan, see the Climate Action Plan webpage.

2022 Meeting Schedule

Meetings will be held the fourth Wednesday of the month, quarterly, 2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the Government Services Center unless otherwise noted.

2021 Meetings

2020 Meeting Schedule

Chester County Environmental and Energy Advisory Board Members

Name Representation from Bylaws Organization
Jess Cadorette, Chair Citizen  
Paul Spiegel, Vice Chair CCEDC Smart Energy Initiative Practical Energy
Brian O'Leary, Secretary County Department - Planning Commission Chester County
Jon Altshul Municipal Managers Consortium East Goshen Township
Jan Bowers County Department - Facilities Chester County
David Busch Utility Downingtown Water Authority
Seung Ah Byun County Department - Water Resources Authority Chester County
Mark Connolly Business  
Ann Hutchinson Land Conservancy Natural Lands
Steve Krug Business Krug Architects
Mike Murphy County Department - Emergency Services Chester County
Scott Neumann Utility PECO
Rachel Roberts Business American Mushroom Institute
Dave Stauffer County Department - Parks and Open Space Chester County
Chris Strohmaier County Department - Conservation District Chester County
Kevin Warren Business Warren Energy
Jim Wylie Citizen  
Will Williams Citizen